Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I was originally quite hesitant to read this, fearing that it wouldn’t live up to the seven books and nervous of what was going to happen to the characters. But alas, it’s hard to resist the hype and after seeing numerous reviews, it was difficult to ignore it every time I walked past a bookstore.

I’ve decided to not give away any spoilers in this review… it’s a tall order since I would LOVE to spend a post discussing all of the random things that happened but given that there will be plenty of people like me that are holding back/haven’t got around to reading it yet… I’ll wait…. until maybe next year when I’ll discuss the big events that occurred.

So all I’ll say is… the script picks up from the final chapters of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, where Harry is saying farewell to one of his sons, Albus.

Did it live up to expectations… now this is where it gets tricky…

YES : it definitely gave me a ‘Harry Potter’ fix

YES : it held my attention – I finished it in 4 hours

NO : I felt like it recycled far too much of the ‘old’ material

NO : I think turning it into a play has unfortunately meant some characters have been dumbed down to provide the ‘one liners’

NO : It didn’t have the J K vibe to the writing style

You’d think because I’ve stated more NOs than YESs that I’d be giving this script a ‘thumbs down’ but after 9 years of no Harry Potter literature in my life… I’ll take what I’m given! Plus I’m extremely curious to see how they’d pull off half of these scenes in the theatre so I’ll be heading off to see it when I get a chance!

So all in all, it’s definitely worth a read if you’re a Harry Potter fan but it’s worth keeping in mind that this is a SCRIPT not a NOVEL. We’ve all been to plays and know that they have to have a rather more simplistic plot for the audience to follow…

Until next time, Chloé x

P.S. If anyone reads these final notes, you’ll know that I was reading The Devil’s Edge prior to this… don’t worry I’ll be posting my thoughts on this in the next few days!

10 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I did wonder about the script format, but as you gave it a mostly positive review I will give it a go-thank you!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! It’s not out in my country yet, but I look forward to reading it soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. Is it really that good? On a scale of 1-10 how good is it?

    Like

  4. Great post! I’ve been hesitant to read it, but now I will.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the review! I’m thinking about going to see the play since I can get out to London once in a while.

    Like

  6. The first few pages of the book was so disappointing to me. I’ve felt so disconnected with the characters that I stopped reading. I didn’t want the “magic” I felt reading the originals taken away from me because of the script, I put down the book.

    Eventually though, after a week of thinking about it, I picked it up again and started conditioning myself that (1) This is not a JK Rowling book (2) This is a script – not a book, not a novel, it’s something meant to be acted out (3) I need to accept the new characters (4) It’s still the Harry Potter world so read it.

    After having those in mind, I surprisingly enjoyed it, even though I felt that the script didn’t live up to the characters that was created by JK. The dialogues just weren’t Harry, Ron or Hermione to me. But I’d still recommend it to all HP fans, cos, we’re all crazy and we need our fix. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

