My Skincare Routine 2017

A change from my usual bookworm posts but I mentioned I would do this back in my January Favourites and it’s been on my ‘to do’ list ever since! I’m always hugely interested in people’s skincare routines… why? Because my skin is so incredibly rubbish, I’m always hoping I’ll read a post/watch a video which will lead me to a product that will transform my skin and make my skin look more flawless than even disney princesses have.

I’ve finally… after years (and i mean YEARS) of searching, found a routine that has resulted in a peace treaty with the angry red spot invaders… hoorah!

As you can gather, I’m not the most knowledgable when it comes to what’s best for my skin (otherwise my skin would have been perfect a longggg time ago), so when my mum bought me the 3 step Anti-Blemish Clinique products as a Christmas present… I thought why not give it a go. For the first two weeks, I simply applied the three products thinking that was all I needed to. I was wrong.

By chance, I spotted the Clinique counter in a Boot store and went over to talk about their products. It turns out that the cleansing foam can only ‘do its magic‘ on your pores if your make up is already off. I’d fallen at the first hurdle. Damn! Just to add insult, I’d also been wrong to finish on the third step… ?!? Why did I think that just because the third step looked like a cream that this meant I didn’t need a moisturiser?!? … looking back even I realise how silly I’d been.

So I tweaked my routine and it now consists of six steps but for me… it’s near enough foolproof! Oh… and quick disclaimer, I only do this in the nighttime, I’m far too lazy in the morning to do anything but moisturise & slap on some primer before I brush on my foundation!

Step 1 – Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser

It gets all that manky makeup off, for best results use a muslin cloth steeped in a basin full of hot water… the hotter, the better! Get those pores open!!

fullsizerender-2

Step 2 – Anti-Blemish Solutions Cleansing Foam

Now the pores are open, let the foam do its magic and clean out all the dirt

fullsizerender-3

Step 3 – Nivea Double Effect Eye Make-Up Remover

That darn MAC mascara seems to last through the first two steps like a warrior… so this final step is to get rid of any remaining eye make up. Squeeze it on two cotton pads, to cover both eyes and its job done in the blink of an eye

fullsizerender

Step 4 – Anti-Blemish Solutions Clarifying Lotion

Give it a good shake, then squeeze some on ONE cotton pad (its pretty strong stuff) and sweep it over your face

fullsizerender-6

Step 5 – Anti-Blemish Solutions Over Clearing Treatment

Give it a quick squeeze until you have about a standard marble size worth of cream on your hand and rub it all over your face

fullsizerender-5

Step 6 – Moisture Surge – Extended Thirst Relief

Slap a nice big dollop of this stuff all over to keep your skin moisturised and to prevent Step 3 and 4 from dehydrating your skin

fullsizerender-4

And voila! I’m done.

The whole thing takes me well under ten minutes and if I rush I can get it done in five! It’s helped clear my spots, prevented them from coming back and made my makeup so much easier to apply the next morning.

Anyone out there use a similar routine? I’ve noticed if I miss a step, I really pay the penalty… last week I ran out of Step 4 and wasn’t able to pick it up for a few days… guess what? two cheeky spots turned up!

Until next time, Chloé x

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Complete review of your routine 👍🏻👍🏻☺️

    Like

  2. These products all look so lovely! Looks like a solid skincare routine!

    x Annabelle
    travelsandtea.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

